COM 584 PR Campaigns

Inspirations, deep thoughts, surprising insights, or random ideas on how social media intersects PR.

Breaking Out Of The Basics

google search engine

Digitaltrends.com

While reading Chapter Two: Structure, Strategy and the Content Code stressed me out, I’m thankful there is a (serious, yet comical twist) book written about tips to break out of the norm and compete in this world full of well…competition. I couldn’t help think “How am I ever going to be successful when this world is full of over-saturated niches?!” In order to compete with others you have to be great, and to be great you have to think outside the box. Like the example used in the book by Marcus Sheridan, “swimming pools” – you won’t get anywhere creating a blog about swimming pools when there are over 8 million results. Yours will only add to the many that got lost in the crowd. How about the many different types and varieties of swimming pools? This is where I got thinking. I myself went straight to Google mid-read, and typed in my business idea.

As I talked about in my last blog, fashion. My dream would be to have my own online clothing website. I typed in “Woman’s E Commerce Fashion Websites,” and just as I expected, over 3 million results. If this is truly a passion and dream of mine then I have to figure out a way to make my website stand out in a different way than all the others. After finishing the chapter, one of my favorite things I found very helpful and relatable were the “3H’s,” hygiene content, hub content, and hero content. Hub content is what truly stood out to me, that is what I need to use in order to separate myself from all the rest. I think it is one of the most important things, not attracting people to your page but making them STAY. Being an avid online shopper I have visited probably thousands of clothing sites in my 21 years of life. One thing I always find myself complaining about is that I don’t know who’s behind this site when I enter it. I personally want to know their age, their style, their style icon, and where they grew up because to me that makes a difference in someone’s fashion sense. I want to know what inspires them, and I want to see that on their page!

Of course, I don’t want to put all of my ideas out on a public blog (fashion is a saturated niche) but It all clicked in my head that there are very few sites like this, and I could make mine successful by simply adding this hub content. I loved this chapter because it made me think outside the box, not only in the Public Relations field but this can apply to any job type. It also added a little humor in the mix which made me want to keep reading.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2015 by in Chapter 2.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow COM 584 PR Campaigns on WordPress.com
