COM 584 PR Campaigns

Inspirations, deep thoughts, surprising insights, or random ideas on how social media intersects PR.

Content Overload: Enough is Enough!

Honestly, reading this chapter got me a bit anxious and overwhelmed. I started thinking about how to produce quality content, how to saturate an unsaturated niche, how to create content relevant to the audience, how to be a part of the content arms race, it was all running through my mind. Schaeffer explains that “dominating a niche early has extremely important long-term value because the search engines will continue to recognize and reward the authority your website accrues for a long time” (29). Then I started to think what does this really mean and is it possible for me to find an unsaturated niche?

Google Images

Google Images

On a more calming note, I really liked the section explaining the Content Saturation Index. I never though to research the amount of content available for a topic on the Internet, nor did I know about the monitoring tools available. Then I finally took a deep breath while reading.

I can relate to the section of winning the face of the information overload. I thought back to producing content for my internship at GMMB. There was always better viewership when I posted a mix of different types of content, as outlined in section 2. I tried my best to incorporate videos, photos, text, facts, statistics, emotional content and relatable content because everyone gets bored seeing words all the time.

It was difficult creating hygiene content because most of what I posted about had to do with global issues that girls and women face. A lot of what I found was that unless one is living in these places/situations around the world, and experiencing the horrors of rape, displacement, hunger, fear, war etc. they may not be able to relate. I often asked myself was there a limit to how much shocking content to have?

For example some of my posts were about the Boko Haram terrorist group in Nigeria and how they strap young girls to bombs and blow them up in the middle of the square. Reading about horrifying stories like this everyday, got a bit daunting so it really made me think about if my audience was also overwhelmed with the shocking content. I wanted to highlight the horrors because people need to know what’s going on, but enough is enough! A mix of content was needed.

I liked how he then describes the six elements of the content code because yes you need great content, but you need content that will stand out among the rest. Schaeffer says, “Great content is simply the table stakes needed to earn a seat at the table” (39). This was a great analogy.

Lastly, I agree with Schaeffer when he explains that building shareability into your content may be the most important concept in the book (41). Shareability is vital because it seems to be the digital form of “word of mouth”. If people cannot share your content, only that viewer can be exposed, then it stops there. In my internship it was always rewarding to see people interact with my content. That took away the anxiety and made everything worthwhile because I knew they cared about the issues and what I had to say.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2015 by in Chapter 2 and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow COM 584 PR Campaigns on WordPress.com
