COM 584 PR Campaigns

Inspirations, deep thoughts, surprising insights, or random ideas on how social media intersects PR.

Where’s your digital content?

Wally---Gobbling-G_2346215b

“There are many forecasts out there, but most center around a 500 percent estimated increase in the amount of information on the web between 2015 and 2020. If you can imagine the vastness of the web today… well, pretty soon we’re going to have five times that! And some think that number is low, projecting as much as a staggering 1,000 percent increase in information density in that timeframe! Do you think it might be just a little harder to stand out in the next few years?

This is a quote from The Content Code that we are reading in class this semester. I honestly never enjoy any books that teachers assign but this one really caught my attention. Finally, a book that talks to people like they are people and not just teaching ways or techniques, if you know what I mean. Not only that but I am aiming for a career in the digital world and this is a m a z i n g to read about my interests and what’s actually going on in the real world in a way that can help me later.

So, as you can see, there’s a random image of a Where’s Waldo puzzle. Poor Waldo is always so lost in a huge crowd even with his unique and “stand out” white and red outfit. To me this is a great comparison to what ‘content shock’ is and the never ending problem marketers have now. Since now the internet is so accessible and useful, more and more people just continue to sign up and pollute it with ways to advertise themselves or their companies. The chapter even talks about how it is all getting even harder to communicate your messages, not only because of the pollution, but because people are just so used to seeing ads and ignoring them.

It is interesting yet a bit frustrating to continue learning and realizing the difficulty and almost impossibility of the digital world I want to get into, but hopefully while continuing this book I can grasp a better understanding of it all and little by little come up with ideas to go around it all.

About Life of an Ad Student

Hello! My name is Jasmine Fajardo, I am a 21 year old senior at the University of Tampa. I am finishing my bachelor's degree with a major in Advertising and Public Relations with a minor in Marketing. I want to take you on the journey with me as I culminate my last year as an undergrad and work my way towards starting either a master's and/or landing a job after graduation, the most tedious step of any recent grad.

One comment on “Where’s your digital content?

  1. bnwhaley1
    January 24, 2016

    Jasmine, I can sympathize with you about the amount of content that is out there on the web. I often think that in 5-10 years how are we going to come up with new ideas, sometimes I feel like by that time everything will already be created and there will be no more new ideas left. I agree that it is interesting and convinient to have so much information readably available to us, but often it is tough to sift through it all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2016 by in Chapter 1.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow COM 584 PR Campaigns on WordPress.com
