COM 584 PR Campaigns

Inspirations, deep thoughts, surprising insights, or random ideas on how social media intersects PR.

Limitless

In the beginning of the chapter, Schaefer describes his first encounter with a piece of digital content. I found this very interesting because I was able to look back on my first encounter. I was a pre teen in middle school at the time. I thought it was so cool that I was able to take pictures and text people on my pink flip phone. At the same time, I was able to chat with people through the AIM messaging account I had. The name on my account was absolutely ridiculous. Up until I was in high school, I thought the digital age would only ever be used for a few things. Now here we are 10 years later, it is nothing I expected it to be. It is even better!

Go back even further (20 years ago) and the world really was limited to just a few advertising and communication platforms. Now, there are NO limits when it comes to marketing platforms. The content, social media and mobile revolution is taking over the business world. Digital marketers are drowning in all of it. It has only made their jobs more challenging. In the end, it is a huge competition: everyone must have the best of the best Internet presence in order to be noticed.

Between the hundreds of major social networking platforms out there, you can be signed up on several different accounts within 2 minutes. These platforms are being filled with content everyday. Schaefer describes this as the Content Shock age. The social media platforms are thriving because of it. If everyone has fantastic content to show, they want it at the top of every newsfeed. This can happen but it always comes with a big price. He even states some implications, one being: “deep pockets have an advantage”. He goes further with it and says the success doesn’t start with the quality of the content but instead it comes with the sense of community and entertainment it creates. He proves this to be true by telling some personal stories of his own.

About Taylor Young

I am a senior at the University of Tampa studying public relations and advertising.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow COM 584 PR Campaigns on WordPress.com
