COM 584 PR Campaigns

Inspirations, deep thoughts, surprising insights, or random ideas on how social media intersects PR.

E-mail: Ancient or Amazing?

Chapter 8 in Mark Schaeffer’s The Content Code discusses different ways of distribution of your content.  Having multiple channels for your content to be distributed on is a crucial aspect of getting your media out to the world and to the right people.

One particular thing that caught my attention in this chapter was when Schaeffer broke down a list of “actionable ideas” (165).  Specifically, I was intrigued by number 5, “Don’t overlook e-mail as a distribution channel for your content” (167).  I thought that was interesting because I think it is a channel that is definitely overlooked in todays age with all of the new and different media outlets we have.

Personally, I’ve unsubscribed from a lot of companies to lower my junk mail and am able to go through my Inbox easier.  But, I still have a good amount that I haven’t unsubscribed from because they’re the companies I feel I really want to know what’s going on and I feel the most connected with. Like Schaeffer said, it really may be one of the best ways to see who your Alpha Audience truly is.  For the few companies I am still subscribed to I would definitely consider myself a member of their Alpha Audience and their content truly matters to me. I’m most likely to interact with these companies after reading their e-mails and seeing what their latest deals, events or information is.\

All in all, don’t forget about the good old fashioned e-mail. You never know who’s reading.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow COM 584 PR Campaigns on WordPress.com
