COM 584 PR Campaigns

Inspirations, deep thoughts, surprising insights, or random ideas on how social media intersects PR.

How to Make Others SHARE SHARE SHARE!

The author pointed out a super important idea…you can not share something if the sharing buttons are not available! DUH! But, over half of companies do not even have social sharing buttons. Adding easy buttons for click to share is the first step, but the chapter offers other insightful tips to make your content easily shareable.

One tip that surprised me was,

“Shorter content enables social sharing in a busy world, right? Not necessarily” (74). With so much content and very little time, we start to believe that less is more. The author explains the longer content is shared the most.  In fact, 3,000 to 10,000 words have the highest amount of shares. When reflecting on this, I went to my own Facebook to see what I have recently shared. Most recently, I was sharing articles or even emailing them to my parents or professors. The second category I shared was videos.

With so much content and very little time, we start to believe that less is more. The author explains the longer content is shared the most.  In fact, 3,000 to 10,000 words have the highest amount of shares. When reflecting on this, I went to my own Facebook to see what I have recently shared. Most recently, I was sharing articles or even emailing them to my parents or professors. The second category I shared was videos.

Another set of advice from the chapter was how to craft a headline to get your content shared. A tip that I subconscious like is when articles have headlines with a number for example,  “12 ways you know you are from MN”. It is eye catching, quick to read and I can relate to it. This idea connects back to chapter 3 about why we share the things we do.

Much like these blogs when we add an image, I will often share things because the image stands out to me on my newsfeed. Remembering and relating an image to the content helps me as a reader so much.

The chapter offers super insightful tips that I will actually take to my job and use. I now notice them as well when I am sharing on social.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2017 by in content code, shareability, social media, Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Follow COM 584 PR Campaigns on WordPress.com
